Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2023

13 June 2023

Delighted to announce we are OPEN FOR ENTRIES NOW. Closing Date Thursday 24th August

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland.

This year the award will be adjudicated by Victoria Kennefick, acclaimed author of ‘Eat Or We Both Starve‘, her debut poetry collection.

Considered by many to be a crucial milestone for emerging poets, past recipients of the Kavanagh Award include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods to name but a few.

This years winning entry will receive €2,000.  To find out more about this years award download the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award Guidelines for 2023.


The award will be presented on Friday 29th September 2023 on the opening evening of the annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend at the Patrick Kavanagh Centre.  For more about the award check out our dedicated page Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award.

Alternatively contact the Patrick Kavanagh Centre.
Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan.
Tel. +353 (0) 429378560