Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2021 details announced

19 June 2021

Closing date extended to Thursday 19th August.

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland.

Sponsored by Grant Thornton

We are delighted to announce the resumption of the award after the necessary cancellation of 2020’s edition. It is particularly significant as 2021 marks the 50th anniversary of our very first award in 1971, when Sean Clarkin from Wexford was the inaugural recipient of the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award.

Other previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.

We are also delighted to announce that the recipient of this year’s award will recieve €2,000, which is an increase of €1k on the most recent award.

Closing date for entries is Thursday 19th August 2021.

The award will be presented on Friday 24th September 2021 the opening evening of the annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend at the Patrick Kavanagh Centre.

Click here to download the award rules and entry form. Alternatively contact the Patrick Kavanagh Centre. See contact details below.

Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan.

Tel. +353 (0) 429378560


Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2021 details announced