Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2024

29 May 2024

Delighted to announce we are OPEN FOR ENTRIES NOW. Closing Date Thursday 1st August, 5pm.

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland.

The award adjudicator is Victoria Kennefick, acclaimed author of award winning collection ‘Eat Or We Both Starve‘ (2021). Her second collection ‘Egg/Shell’ was published earlier this year.

Considered by many to be a crucial milestone for emerging poets, past recipients of the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods to name but a few.  In 2024, Lauren O’Donovan won with her searing collection ‘Taxidermy Heart’.

This year’s winning entry will receive €2,000.  To find out more about the award download the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award Guidelines for 2024.


The award will be presented on Friday 27th September 2024 on the opening evening of the annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend.  For more about the award and its history check out our dedicated page Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award.

Alternatively contact the Patrick Kavanagh Centre.
Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan.
Tel. +353 (0) 429378560